Kingsmeade?
I had a phone call yesterday from a company(?) calling themselves Kingsmeade Equity.
They claimed to be a financial services company who would help me invest. The call was very low-pressure - basically a chat about the markets, where they would go, and what did I think. The caller had a English accent (London, I think, although it could've been more northern) calling himself "Daniel Goldsmith" calling from Tokyo.
The thing which worries me is that I can find no trace of the company online. I find it very difficult to believe that you can have a global trading company which doesn't show up in Google. This may just be a spelling thing, but Google normally searches for similarly sounding word. Does anyone know of a "Kingsmeade Equity"?
Also, the amount of backchat I could hear (The caller clearly talking to someone else when he thought I couldn't hear) was odd. Obviously there was someone else listening to the call and commenting ,saying things like "he's saying he's not with us". It seemed a bit unprofessional.
UPDATE: I just love having google juice. This is now the first of the entries on google if you search for kingsmeade equity, and you don't even need quotes. Despite having a Google Page Rank of only 3/10.
UPDATE 27/02/2008: The company appears to be KingsmeadPE.
0 TrackBacks
Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: Kingsmeade?.
TrackBack URL for this entry: http://www.diaspoir.net/cgi-bin/mt4/mt-tb.cgi/634
1 Comments
Leave a comment
Some Blogs
- Go Fug Yourself
- WWdN: In Exile (Wil Wheaton)
- Uncertain Principles
- Crooked Timber
- Official Google Blog
- Wine Library TV
- Slashdot
- waider
- waidesworld
- Making Light
- The Language Hat
- Neil Gaiman
- Whatever: John Scalzi
- Charlie Stross's Diary
- Ken MacLeod
- Dave Langford's Ansible
- Contrary Brin
- Stephen Fry
- Veronica Belmont
- Mahalo
- Merlin Mann
- Kung Fu Grippe
- Jonathan Coulton
- David Gerrold
- Orcinus
- The Sideshow
- Josh Marshall
- Atrios (Eschaton)
- Hullabulloo
- 43 Folders
- Wis[s]e Words: Ceci n'est pas un blog
- Wil Harris
- Boing Boing
- Engadget
- Gizmodo
- LifeHacker
- The Poor Man
- Creative Commons
Environental Sites
Apple News and blogs
- Apple Hot News
- Apple Phone Show
- Mac Rumors
- Andy Ihnatko
- TUAW
- MacRumors
- Apple Insider
- Fake Steve Jobs
- Erica Sadun iPhone developer
- ZiPhone Zibri's iPhone unlocker
- Mac OS X Hints
- 9 to 5 Mac
- MacWorld
Linux News
Photography News and blogs
- DPReview
- Photo.net
- This Week in Photography
- Strobist (flash photography)
- Stuck In Customs (HDR)
- Pentax
- Pentax Support
- The Gimp
- Photomatix
News and Politics
- Google News
- BBC News
- South China Morning Post
- HK Standard
- UK Guardian
- Your Yahoo!
- WhiteHouse.org
- Christian Science Monitor
- The Onion (Even better than the real thing!)
Podcasts
- TWiT.tv
- MacBreak Weekly
- This Week in Tech
- FLOSS Weekly
- Pixel Corps
- Podango
- TekZilla
- Command-N
- Mahalo Daily
Web Comics
- User Friendly by Illiad
- Sheldon by Dave Kellett
- Dilbert by Scott Adams
- Doonesbury by Trudeau
- Everyone Loves Eric Raymond
- XKCD by Randall
- The Joy of Tech comic by nitrozac
- PVP Online by Scott Kurtz
- Real Life by Greg Dean
- Questionable Content
- Mega Tokyo
- WonderMark by David Maliki
- Girl Genious
- Penny Arcade by Gabe and Tycho
- NASA astronomy picture of the day
- The World of Lily Wong
- Hi Jinks Ensue
- Three Panel Soul
- Girls With Slingshots
- Ann Telnaes
- Joel Pett
- Tom Toles
- Pat Oliphant
- Ted Rall
About Me
- about me
- odaiwai's shared items
- odaiwai on twitter
- odaiwai on youtube
- odaiwai on flickr
- odaiwai on del.icio.us
- odaiwai on blogspot
- odaiwai on livejournal
- SARS Statistics
- Site Statistics
- hong kong weather
- phpsysinfo
- dave's wibblings (feedburner)
Contact
- Unsolicited Bulk Email (spam), commercial solicitations, SEO related items, and abuse are not welcome here.
- email the webmaster
- Any email to the above address may be made public at the sole discretion of the recipient.


Kingsmeade Private Equity - they SAY that they are operating from Ruchstrasse Frankfurt. the street does not exist. Their (Frankfurt???) telephone number has the same ring tone as a UK phone - NOT a German ringtone, so one can guess exactly where they are. They will offer to sell (ficticious??) shares ina ficticious???) or questionable company and dounle your money is a few days. The information they send you will be sent from Chicago USA by DHL and will not be signed or have a company stamp, therefore questionable to say the least. Interestingly companies like this appear and disappear weekly - possibly it is the same crowd - a load of crooks, conmen and charlatans - DO NOT TOUCH THEM WITH THE PROVERBIAL 12FT. BARGEPOLE.